Home Page

Chair of Governor's Welcome

A Message from Mike Routledge, the Chair of Governors

A warm welcome from the Governing Body of Cumwhinton Primary School. As you may be aware this is a significant period of change for our school. Several new staff have joined us this year and we are in the process of appointing our next headteacher. On top of that, changes are taking place in the Governing Body with a new Chair and the need to add some additional members to our board. This follows a period of unprecedented disruption due to Covid 19. Consequently, some of our planned strategic developments have had to be put on hold until our new complement of staff and governors are all finalised from January 2022. I hope parents and staff will bear with us as this takes place. Getting changes right takes a little bit of time. Fortunately, these will not affect the day-to-day teaching and learning for the children.


All governing bodies, no matter what type of school they govern, have three core functions:


  • Ensuring a clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction for the school.
  • Holding school leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of the staff.
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure that its money is well spent.


Our governors are all volunteers who spend the equivalent of something like ten days per year on their governing body responsibilities albeit divided into mainly evening sessions. However, there are periods when the time commitment increases, for example, when recruiting a headteacher.


Cumwhinton Primary School Governing Body comprises the Headteacher plus:


4          Parent Governors (appointed by the parents)

5          Co-opted Governors (appointed by the governing body)

1          Staff Governor (appointed by the staff)

1          Local Authority (LA) Governor (appointed or agreed by the local authority)


The Governing Body can also invite associate (non-voting members) to join meetings.


The term of office for a governor is four years.


The working element of any governing body is the committees structure. Here is where discussion takes place and decisions are made for recommendation to the full Governing Body for approval. In Cumwhinton School there are three committees for oversight of:  


  • Staffing and Finance (St. & Fin.)
  • Curriculum and Standards (Cur. & St.)
  • Welfare (health, safety and premises) (Wel.)


The full Governing Body and all committees meet at least once each term and minutes are taken. All the approved minutes of our Governing Body meetings are available on request from the school office at 01228 560400 or email


The Governing Body currently has twelve members who have full voting rights:



Governor Status

Term of Office


Mrs Meya Sansom


Nov. 21 to Nov. 25

St. & Fin. & Cur. & St.

Mr Gary Oliver


Sept. 19 to Sept. 23

Wel. & St. & Fin.

Mrs Julie Stewart


Sept. 19 to Sept. 23

St. & Fin. & Cur. & St.

Mrs Beth Pipes


Dec. 20 to Dec. 24

Cur. & St.& Wel.

Mrs Rebecca Miller


Sept. 19 to Sept. 23

Cur. & St. & Wel.

Mr David Little


Feb. 19 to Feb. 23

Wel. / St. & Fin.









Mr Lawrence Fearon


Nov. 21 to Nov. 25

Welfare & St. & Fin.

Mrs Lorraine Strong

Staff Governor

Sept. 20 to Sept. 24

Cur. & St.& Wel.

Miss Stella Astell

Acting Head


St. & Fin. & Cur. & St.

Mr Mike Routledge

LA Governor

Apr. 21 to Apr. 25

St. & Fin. & Cur. & St.


Clerk to Governors is Mrs Elaine Whitington who is also an invited associate member of the Staffing and Finance and Welfare Committees. Mr David Beattie, our caretaker, is also an associate member of the Welfare Committee.


The Governing Body is obliged to provide the following additional details:


Name                             Pecuniary Interests          Attendance at Meetings 20/21           

Rebecca Miller                                                                                      2/3

David Little                     Wife is member of staff                                  3/3

Meya Sansom                Teacher at William Howard                            2/3

Gary Oliver                     Vice Chair, Wreay School governors             3/3

Julie Stewart                                                                                         3/3

Beth Pipes                                                                                            3/3

Loraine Strong                                                                                      3/3

Mike Routledge              Partner is a member of staff                          2/2

Lawrence Fearon                                                                      New governor

Stella Astell                    Acting Headteacher


Please say hello to any of our governors if you come across them but please bear in mind that they cannot discuss specific problems or issues relating to an individual pupil. Nor can they respond to criticism or complaints relating to the school, or act on their own. Incidents should be directed to the headteacher and if the problem is not resolved dealt with through the formal complaints’ procedures available from the school office.


Kind regards.


Mike Routledge